hi all . I’ve just come back from Manado (July 12). I wanna share my activities there. 😀 hope you’ll enjoy it guys!

first day : July 9, 2010 – Friday

from Soekarno-Hatta airport Jakarta (06.30 am, delayed) went to Juanda airport Surabaya for transit, then continued the flight to Sam Ratulangi airport Manado. I went there only with my dad

arrived there on 12.45 pm (central Indonesian time).  ako Yuli came to picked me and my dad. hm, I don’t know how to say it in English, but my grandma told me that I must call her “ako” 🙂 . we went to a restaurant named Wahaha restaurant at Pierre Tendean Boulevard. I’ve eaten some Manado’s foods there. Stir-fry water spinach, skipjack tuna’s egg woku belanga, dabu-dabu, bobara fish rica-rica, and young coconut ice with brown sugar 😀

after ate the yummy foods, we went to find a boat for Sunday. Cause on Sunday we were going to go to Bunaken. It took a long time to make a negotiation with the boat’s owner. Many owners there, and they’ve their own rate. So, we have to find the cheapest one. After found the boat, ako Yuli took me and my dad to Manado Quality Hotel. (at 5 pm)

The hotel’s services were so good. They’re very polite and friendly to the guests. First time we arrived there, I waited my dad took the suitcases from the car. When I was waiting there, the bellboy took 3 glasses of orange juice, then he gave me one. And after my dad and ako Yuli came in, he gave one for dad and one for ako Yuli. Then we’re going to the receptionist desk. She also gave us a wet small towel to clean-up our face.

I took a bath in my room’s bathroom. Ako Yuli and my dad were waiting in the room. I finished in 15 minutes, then we went to see sunset at the Boulevard. It’s great. The sunset was pretty perfect. There’s no cloud that covered the sun. I love the sky’s color, so beautiful.

Then we went to saw “Monumen Tuhan Yesus Memberkati” in Citraland real-estate. I couldn’t take some picts of myself there ‘cause I didn’t bring the camera, if I took picts with my phone, my face would be so dark in the picts. So, I just took picts of the monument.

We’re going down to the city. It’s night, and it’s time to eat some meals 😀 we ate pork rib soup at soto ba’ ko’ petrus. So yummyyyyyyy 😀 you must try it guys. It’s located near Manado Quality Hotel. Just a few meters from there, enter a small street, and you’ll find it. Oh, I almost forget it. Before we went to eat, we’re going to “Kelenteng Ban Hing Kiong”. It is kinda temple, place for Confucian people to pray. And I prayed there.

Manado Town Square (ManToS)… I went there. Just for window shopping. Haha. There some clothes stores, XXI (cinema), and so many foods… hm, I thought, it’s good. 😀

Second day : July 10, 2010 – Saturday

This day, I went to Tondano Lake and Bukit Kasih…

Ako Yuli with her niece (Miridya) came to pick me and my dad in the morning. We’re leaving Manado and going to Tomohon, then Tondano. We stopped at a restaurant. Ako Yuli bought some pork satays. Then we continued the trip.

Finally, we arrived at Tondano Lake. It was raining. I saw so many water hyacinth on the lake. And so many people seemed having picnic. Some people were fishing. I took some picture there.

goldfish woku, grilled carp, stir-fry water spinach, pork satay, leaf wrapped rice (sort of rice cake or “lontong” in Indonesia), and a cup of hot chocolate milk . I’ve eaten that at “Danau Tondano Restaurant” 🙂 when we finished our lunch session, we were going to Bukit Kasih .

at Bukit Kasih (it’s so cold here), my dad and I must walked through a very long stairs to reach the big cross (ako Yuli and Miridya waited us at the car park). at first the stairs made of cement and still good, but at the middle it’s broken. and at the end, we must walked through a non-cemented steps (fresh soil) and stones, people made it by digging the land, so it looks like ladder, and it was very slippery. the surrounding area was full of sulphur gas. and there’s a small sulphur craters (like a pond) and it’s warm, so people can put their legs into it.

okay, I’ll tell you about my journey here. hohoho. 😀  at the bottom of the hill, I thought that the hill was very short, and I thought I could reach the top so fast . but when I walked through it, I felt I can’t breath normally. so I took some minutes for break, then continued. I yielded the palm to my dad . yeah, he still strong enough to walked to the top of the hill. in the middle of my way, I almost gave up and almost decided to turn back down. but I thought I was a loser if I stopped there, so I continued. I felt dizzy and couldn’t breath normally, felt like I’m going to puke. but thanks God, I didn’t puke. when I reached the slippery steps from the fresh soil, I almost slipped in some times . OMG . and when I reached out the big cross, I thanked God for making me arrived there. and I took a picture there.

the darkening sky reminded us to go down. we took a different way for going down. here we go! we met again with the slippery ladder. here I were really really afraid to walk. once I slipped, my ass would kiss the ground and would love the pain. 😀 so be careful when you walk through it. finally, we met the flat ground. it’s a footpath with trees and grasses on our left and right side.

yeah, finally.. there’s a small area after we finished the footpath. first, you’ll see a small chatolic chapel from the back side. then you’ll also see a St Mary statue, it’s located on the back side of the chapel (outside the chapel). in front of the chapel, there’s the last place for “Via Dolorosa”.

I continued my way, then I saw a small vihara (for Buddhist). then walked again, and there’s a temple for Hindus. then I saw a Christian chapel, and finally a small mosque (musholla).

my dad and I continued going down. and actually it must be a “via dolorosa”, but I didn’t walk that way to reach the top .

when I arrived on the lower area, I took some picture with an owl and a small eagle. I also touch them and I thought they like it. 🙂

We’re going down to Tomohon city, ako Yuli recommended me to try a cup of home made coffee and bakpao (steamed bun stuffed with meat or other ingredients/dumpling). We were stopping at “Kedai Kopi Gembira”. the coffee taste was great. 😀 and actually, I’m a coffee lovers 😀

Third day : July 11, 2010 – Sunday

went to Bunaken 😀 I went there with my dad (of course), ako Yuli, ako Vonny and 2 cute little kids, Miridya and Ryan (her older bro), ako Yuli’s mom, and 2 servants.

we saw a very beautiful 3 points of Bunaken National Marine Park .  I really really and really enjoyed it 😀 and I wish to going back there someday… 🙂 after we saw the beautiful corals, we went to the island…

ate fish again! yeah! hahaha 😀 sooooooo delicious, and never forget “dabu-dabu” 🙂 before ate the grilled fish, I ordered a young coconut. my dad and ako Yuli also ordered it. while I waited the young coconut, I called my aunt in Surabaya. I told her that I was in Bunaken and going to eat, and soon ended up the phone ’cause my coconut was waiting for me 😀 ouch! the coconut meat was sooooooo hard to be cut. need an extra energy to cut the meat. it’s different with my dad’s and ako Yuli’s. maybe mine wasn’t a young coconut but an old one. but never mind, I still could enjoy it 😀

finished eating some delicious foods.. me, dad , ako Yuli, ako Vonny, Miridya, and Ryan went to the boat. we would having some funs in the sea . we’re going to snorkeling. and it was soooooooooooooo fun ! the coral was so pretty, and there were some clown fishes with their anemones. hm, I were still a lil’ bit afraid of the little fishes, afraid if they would bite me. hahaha. but actually not like that. the fishes was so friendly. hm, but be careful of the jellyfishes, ’cause they’re invisible, they’re transparant. I were touched by the jellyfishes. and I must grudgingly let my hand and leg being itchy 😦 but…… after 5 minutes, it’s already ok.

hm… the sky has been darkening… the boat’s owner told us to going back to the island, then we could take a shower there and going home. hm, I haven’t satisfied, but what could I do. I must went back to Manado. Arrived at Manado, ako Vonny took me and dad back to the hotel. then at 7 we’re going to city extra.

at city extra, I ate woku, rica-rica, and dabu-dabu againnnnnnn . these time, I ate grouper fish, bobara fish, and stir-fry water spinach 🙂 so full… hm… city extra located on Malalayang beach… it’s a romantic place outside, and a cozy place inside. the ocean’s wind was a fresh breeze… and I love it so much 🙂 I love ocean, it could bring me peace… 😀

the last day : July 12, 2010 – Monday

Hey… so sad and so hard to say goodbye to Manado 😦 I’ve enjoyed Manado… I’ve enjoyed the ocean… but I must left Manado. at the morning, ako Yuli picked me and dad to buy some t-shirt. I’ve bought some for myself and my dad bought for his friends and himself. after that, I went to ako Yuli’s home. we got lunch there together. after that, I went to the airport… and BYE MANADO, I’M GONNA VISIT YOU AGAIN SOMEDAY… 😀 love Manado!

NB : When I come back to Manado again, I wanna see Tarsius in Bitung 🙂

